It’s the first time to touch on the work of the Polish record label Via Nocturna who presented for me this year’s black metal release by Zorormr  – “Corpvs Hermeticum”; an excellent melodic black metal incarnation from Poland. Let me tell you a few more words about it.

“The lips of wisdom are closed, except to the ears of the understanding.”
– The Kybalion

Firstly, Zorormr appears to be a one-man project that is represented by Moloch. “Corpvs Hermeticum” is the 3rd full-length (recorded with session members Mike Wead: lead strings on track 6, Tomasz “Hal” Halicki: vocals on track 3, Icanraz: drums and Quazarre: lead strings) that he released given that the band was conceived in the not so far 2010.  His newest piece of art embraces the dark vibe of black metal adorned with plenty of melodic passages and aerial sounds. It looks very much like a polished artwork where even the finest details can be clearly noted.

I was very pleasantly surprised after the first listen of the album for two main reasons. Firstly, the production quality of “Corpvs Hermeticum” is outstanding. There’s no loss of the instrumental’s work and one can fully experience the menacing soundscapes. Quite interesting is the balance between the darkness and the beauty that reek from the record. Yes, it is evil done the black metal way but decorated with finesse. Apart from the obvious black metal vibe that dominates, “Corpvs Hermeticum” was pushed further with the inclusion of pretty skillful guitar solos this and there and cinematic elements that give more depth of the album’s concept.

Reminding yourself that behind Zorormr, there’s just one man pulling the strings, it’s hard to not express great admiration at the hard work that is obvious in the album. This leads me to the second reason, which is diversity. We all know that often some bands tend to repeat themselves and listening to their album could make no difference in terms of each track in the tracklist. Fortunately, this is not the case for Zorormr’s third full-length. Each track has a different character and impact on the listener, and that’s fucking great because you will surely want some more from it.

In a nutshell, why should you give “Corpvs  Hermeticum” a try? It is diverse, it is melodic, it is god damn well designed from A to Z and certainly it is a black metal album that will get a reserved spot for one of the finest creations in 2015. Now, I would let the music speak for itself and entitle you the right to give the final judgement.

ZorormrCorpus Hermeticum
Via Nocturna, release: 22.02.2015
Order CD | Homepage | Facebook | Myspace

1. I Am Legend
2. Against All Heresies
3. In the Mouth of Madness
4. Nyarlathotep
5. Twilight of the Idols
6. Corpus Hermeticum
7. The Seventh Sermon to the Dead
8. Worship Me…
9. This I Command!

Total running time: 45:53