Alright, you might be surprised that the new post arrived so soon given the usual delays. Today, I was fortuned enough to finish my day time work on time and have vital energy to write something up. So, allow me to introduce some truly fine picks, two of which to be released and one…well, already out.

Nightbringer – Terra Damnata

Nightbringer - Terra Damnata

I assume Nightbringer have received a fair amount of attention by popular media publishers already for their upcoming opus. However, I decided to join the bandwagon not for anything else but simply because of the fact that I am myself  hyper stoked for “Terra Damnata“.  If you are already well familiar with their works, you will most likely know that they are among the highlights in the US black metal underground.

Now, 3 years after their latest phenomenal record was out, “Terra Damnata“, an 8-piece full-length is ready to take over the world in 14 April though Season Of Mist. I haven’t had the time to explore the track list in full, so my impressions are only based on “Serpent Sun“, the 8th track off of the album that you can listen to yourself. A promise of a Hellish grandeur is the least I can describe the exceptionally well crafted preview below. 

Nightbringer have managed to pull out wicked sick instrumental work that is absolutely awe-inspiring. My personal favourite element – the extremely infectious melodic riffs that will probably get under your skin from the very beginning. They are not just catchy and beautiful. They are art on their own, considering the high skill level required to come up and play such mind-blowing guitar lines sounding both technical and stunningly awesome. Of course, the vocals do not fall behind thanks to Kyle Spanswick’s sinister ways to voice the lyrics.  Alright, enough praise, so why not check out the track list below and play the Hell outta the preview.

Note: Pre-order your copy

Track list:

1. As Wolves Amongst Ruins
2. Misrule
3. Midnight’s Crown
4. Of the Key and Crossed Bones
5. Let Silence Be His Sacred Name
6. Inheritor of a Dying World
7. The Lamp of Inverse Light
8. Serpent Sun

Facebook | Bandcamp

Délétère – Per Aspera Ad Pestilentiam

Délétère - Per Aspera Ad Pestilentiam

I don’t remember when it was the last time I heard from Sepulchral Productions but it was definitely many moons ago. That record label is uncompromising when it comes to their work and Délétère is yet another proof of that. The band is active since 2009, having released a couple of demos, full-length and a split. Although, they have just a handful of materials under their belt, they certainly shine bright with their high quality.

Today, I had the pleasure of taking a peek at Délétère’s upcoming EP “Per Aspera Ad Pestilentiam” and man, it is groundbreaking! Unfortunately, I am not allowed to share a preview of it, so we will have to stick to the track list for now. 

Upon my first listening, the furious yet epic sounding of the 5 arrangements pop immediately. Délétère did not re-invent this genre rather than built their new compositions on the solid foundation they laid down at the dawn the band’s existence. In this case, it’s an excellent choice given that their style of transmuting medieval darkness into tunes is very pleasing to listen to.

As a whole, complexity is not the main focus, I’d say. In my point of view, the band relies on setting a very specific atmosphere, especially when the subtle keyboard presence uplifts the overall instrumentalship. Other than that, you will be overwhelmed by a Northern-inspired black metal assault that ranges from mid to fast-paced tempo. Above all, what captured my attention the most is the splendid vocal execution of uncompromising terror. Too bad that this piece is only 26 minutes long. I guess that’s the only sin of Délétère I can rant about. 

In case you are not familiar with the band’s previous creations, check the unofficial uploads on Youtube prior to the “Per Aspera Ad Pestilentiam” release. 

Track list:

1. I – Incipit : Noster Fructus Irae
2. II – Le Lai de la Vermine
3. III – Horae Leprae : Cantus IV : I.N.O.P.I.A E.T. M.O.R.B.O.
4. IV – Milites Pestilentiae II : De Violatione Ciuitatis Febilis Dei
5. V – Ordo Regis Caedis


Note: Pre-order an MCD on Sepulchral Productions.

Blast from the recent past: Bethlehem – S/T


Bethlehem is a name that exemplifies insanity and no fear to experiment. Even if the fans may not be very fond of the changes. I believe there is no need to introduce this band, so I am gonna cut it down to the chase. In early December 2016, Bethlehem unleashed their….8th full-length that I personally label as one of their most extreme ones since “Dictius Te Necare” era.

I am inclined to suspect that the long anticipated return to their roots is not only because that most of their fans have been ranting about that for ages. It is more likely to be due to their new vocalist who is known for her enormous influence in the German female-fronted extreme metal current – Darkened Nocturn Slaughtercult. Yes, that’s right. Onielar meets Bethlehem resulting into a new self titled album compiled by 10 songs of pure mind-bending psychosis.

Although, I am moderately late with this selection, I would urge you to give yourself enough time to explore all songs in detail and plunge into the bottomless madness. It is well worth it, I assure you!

Facebook | Twitter 

Note: Physical album available on Prophecy Productions.